Internships Hunger Games

Trying to find internships nowadays is ridiculous. I actually feel like Katniss Everdeen trying to fight off all of the Capital tributes. But in this world, I have no Peeta with me. It’s dog eat dog, and I consider myself a Chihuahua.

You have to have experience in order to get an internship that is supposed to provide you with experience. Mobile, Alabama is definitely not the Mecca of internships either. So I have to look in other cities to find an internship.

I’m a college student. I AM BROKE. A.K. A. I HAVE NO MONEY. How will I survive with a full time unpaid internship that also takes up so much time that I can’t get a job to support myself? And in New York City, Seattle, Chicago? There is no possible way I can swing that.

So now I am left with the few paid internships that are crazy competitive. The Disney College Program, which is a semester long internship in Orlando or Anaheim has approximately 20,000 applicants each semester. They accept about 3,000 every season. I have attempted to get accepted twice already. Hopefully third time is the charm, but I deem it unlikely.

Hopefully within the next couple of weeks I can find an internship that will fit me and my budget. Otherwise I am stuck here for the rest of my life.

Stay gold.

xo

 

Leave a Reply

